Top Ten Tuesday | May 3rd (Ten Childhood Characters I’d Love To Revisit As An Adult)

Another first for me: Top Ten Tuesday! So glad I got a good one for my very first, Ten Childhood Characters You’d Love To Revisit As Adults (the link goes to The Broke and the Bookish, the blog that created the meme). Also, a special shout-out to Analee @ Book Snacks!

So, let’s get started!

1. Harry Potter and the gang, from Harry Potter

I will never go by without reading the whole series again at least once a year. It was one of the only books that changed my life, and if I didn’t have it, I don’t think I would ever, ever be the same. Ask anyone I know; this is a defining characteristic of my bookish life. I cannot stress the importance of this series being on this list.

2. Charlotte and Wilbur, from Charlotte’s Web

Charlotte always seemed like a wise spider, someone who always had the right words to say. She was one of the people (read: spider) who taught me the power of words and what they can do for another person.

Wilbur always had big dreams and intended to follow them. I was inspired by his lack of obstacle-noticing and blissful ignorance of the world. Being able to be free like that was something else entirely.

3. Alice, from Alice in Wonderland

Alice was a girl who made nonsense out of nonsense. I accompanied Alice on many of her adventures through Wonderland, which was a world that fascinated me in its mystical adorations.

4. Percy Jackson, from Percy Jackson and the Olympians

I read this after reading The Lost Hero for a class. I still wonder why I hadn’t read it before.

5. The pigs, from The Three Little Pigs

i truly have no idea why this was on the list. I remember having a picture book of this at home, and we still have the slightly (ok, very) worn out copy of it. I had read it at least once every week, and I would make my mom read it to me once more.

6. Baloo, Mowgli, and Bagheera, from The Jungle Book

We had the movie, and I loved watching it. My mom had taken me to Barnes & Noble once (a booknerd’s paradise), and she was sifting through the abridged Classics section. She pulled out a stack, and I picked two—The Call of the Wild and The Jungle Book, which I hadn’t known was a book until I saw it.

7. Jim Hawkins, from Treasure Island

I also bought this on a trip to Barnes & Noble, but I didn’t read it until much later. It captured me instantly—pirates! Who’d ever think of that!

8. Emily, from Pegasus

This was the first book that got me interested in mythology. I fell in love with the rest of the series.

9. The fairies, from The Rainbow Fairies

I siriusly (get it?) have absolutely no idea how this got on the list.  I only ever owned one, but my friend owned the rest and was obsessed with the series.

10. Hank, from Hank the Cowdog

I had one from a childhood book exchange, and I loved the witty remarks and snide comments of the main character. He was one of the funniest, and the way he looked at life was amazing.

Tell me about you Top Ten in the comments below?

 

Leave a Reply

